New release: 232 Strängar – Spunnet

We are proud to bring you 232 Strängar with their first album Spunnet. It will be released 2016 07 29 for download and streaming on all the usual services like iTunes / Apple Music, Spotify, Deezer, etc.

DOWNLOAD: Visit iTunes Music Store or your favourite download store. 232 Strängar - Spunnet monophon MPHFL004, 2016.
232 Strängar – Spunnet. monophon ©2016 (MPHFL004).

232 Strängar (which means 232 Strings) duo will take you on a journey from northern Sweden’s forests down to the open plains of Skåne, where the piano’s tone colours are woven together with the violin’s intricate harmonies and together create a different and exciting form of folk music today.

The music tells of emotions, highs and lows, shaped in beautiful waltzes, groovy schottis, melancholic polskas, where no one is left untouched. The duo’s penchant for improvisation and other genres such as jazz, creating interesting arrangements, delicate soundscapes and curious rhythm.

Although the number of musicians not more than two, the width of the music is great and the colours are many.

Frida Höfling & Emma Engström met at Skurups folk high school and have in recent years been performing at festivals, dance halls, churches, schools, nursing homes, cafes, jazz clubs and trains throughout Sweden.

Album credits:
Frida Höfling, violins and cow horn, Emma Engström, piano. Recorded, mixed and mastered by Johannes Lundberg at Studio Epidemin, Gothenburg.

Tummel release album #4 “PAYBACK TIME”!

This great album was recorded in I/O studios. With the addition of singer Jens Friis-Hansen, the band takes a definite step closer to “popular” music, adding ingredients from pop, rock, jazz and cabaret music, while still retaining a strong foothold in the music of Eastern Europe. Now available on CD and in download stores!

Tummel – Payback Time

From :

”TUMMEL rises from the ashes after the toughest time in the bands history:
After finishing recording their third album TUMMEL’s clarinetist decides to leave the band! The tubaist strikes his head in his workshop, and due to a serious brain concussion he is forced to take a year off! The drummer manages to break his leg during the recording session, 3 months on crutches. A mysterious fever rages among the rest of the members. Despite bursting livers, TUMMEL succeed to finish the record! And in midst of these sufferings, three children are born, engagements are broken and cars wrecked!

TUMMEL is looking for revenge. The album “Payback Time” proves that all accidents have made the band even stronger. With the new member Jens Friis-Hansen on vocals, “Payback Time” offers 13 brand new songs where TUMMEL’s characteristic energy forces everyone to hit the dance floor! “Payback Time” is a collection of bittersweet stories, rumbling loser hymns furious klezmer and vulgar disco beats from the nightclubs around the Black Sea. It is a raging and delightful bastardomusic with roots in a time when all parties lasted until dawn!”

Album credits:
Accordion – Edin Bahtijaragic*
Cello – Per Tidstrand (tracks: 7)
Double Bass – Martin Eriksson (10) (tracks: 11,13)
Drums – Jonatan Aisen
Guitar, Saw, Synthesizer [Moog] – Tobias Allvin
Helicon – Jonatan Ahlbom
Mixed By, Mastered By – Joakim Barfalk
Percussion – Daniel Pergament Persson (tracks: 3)
Recorded By – Per Tidstrand
Saxophone – Pär Moberg
Trombone – Göran Abelli (tracks: 9)
Violin – Andreas Rudenå
Vocals, Mixed By [Assistance], Mastered By [Assistance] – Jens Friis-Hansen*

Payback Time was recorded by Per Tidstrand / monophon at I/O studios and mixed and mastered by Joakim Barfalk / Chromophone.

New release: OPA!

Good Friday April, 10 sees the release of a new EP from monophon. It is available for download on iTunes and other download services. OPA! is also availabe as a CD at the band’s shows.

DOWNLOAD: Visit iTunes Music Store or or your favourite download store. OPA - O Apokliros monophon MPHEP001, 2009.
OPA! – O Apokliros. monophon © 2009 (MPHEP001)

OPA! – O Apokliros

“OPA!” framför en mix av känd och okänd grekisk musik: visor, zeibekiko, chassapiko, tsifteteli!

Gruppen består av engagerade och virtuosa musiker som känner passion för grekisk musik. Huvudelen av materialet består av rebetiko, en genre som utveklades under nittonhundratalets början i hamnstaden Pireus nära Aten, men OPA! har även en stor repertoar med folkkära grekiska melodier och sist men inte minst de personliga favoriter som sångaren Michael Sideridis introducerat för bandet. Stommen i orkestern består av Trio OPA! som är sångaren Michael Sideridis ackompanjerad av Tobias Allvin, Bouzouki och Andreas Rudenå, gitarr. I sin fulla sättning omfattar OPA! sju musiker:

Michael Sideridis, vocals
Tobias Allvin, bouzouki
Thor Ahlgren, bouzouki
Andreas Rudenå, guitar
Johan Ols Olsson, accordion
Martin Eriksson, double bass
Daniel Pergament Persson, percussion

Recorded, mixed and mastered by Per Tidstrand.